The Steering Committee

Murray B. Urowitz

Professor Murray B. Urowitz, MD

University of Toronto,

Murray Urowitz is Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto and Director of the Centre for Prognosis Studies in the Rheumatic Diseases and the Lupus Clinic at the Toronto Western Hospital.

Professor Urowitz was a founding member of the Systemic Lupus International Collaborating Clinics (SLICC) group and currently directs the SLICC Registry for Atherosclerosis. In 1995 he was the recipient of the Distinguished Rheumatologist Award of the Canadian Rheumatology Association and in 2009 he was recipient of the Evelyn V. HESS Award for outstanding contributions to lupus research, awarded by the Lupus Foundation of America. He was the recipient of the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal for longstanding contributions to lupus research work in the field of rheumatology in 2015. In 2017 he was awarded the Distinguished Clinical Investigator Award for exceptional contributions to the field of rheumatology by the American College of Rheumatology. In May 2019 was the recipient of the University of Toronto Dean’s Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award for Global Impact. Professor Urowitz has published over 400 peerreviewed papers and 44 book chapters. He has supervised the training of over 140 fellows in rheumatology especially in systemic lupus erythematosus.



Mailing Address
Stichting Lupus Academy Foundation
Att. Secretariat
Maasdijk 409
4264 AS Veen
The Netherlands