The Steering Committee

Sandra Navarra

Professor Sandra Navarra, MD, FPCP, FPRA

University of Santo Tomas, Manila

Sandra Navarra is Professor and Head of Rheumatology at University of Santo Tomas Hospital, Manila, Philippines. She served as Secretary-General, head of the Education Committee, co-chaired the special interest group on systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) of the Asia Pacific League of Associations for Rheumatology (APLAR), and was past-President of the Philippine Rheumatology Association.

Professor Navarra co-founded the Lupus Foundation of the Philippines where she has served as Medical Adviser. Currently CEO of Rheumatology Educational Trust Foundation Inc. (RETFI), she is director of the Lupus Inspired Advocacy (LUISA) Project for lupus education and research, and the People Empowerment for Arthritis and Lupus (PEARL) Movement for lay education and medical assistance programs. Professor Navarra is a member of the Lupus Academy Steering Committee, and a founding and executive board member of both Asia Pacific Lupus Collaboration (APLC) and Asian Lupus Nephritis Network (ALNN).

Professor Navarra has published widely in the field of lupus and other rheumatic diseases. She is a well-known lecturer in a broad range of topics in Rheumatology and has received several university, national and regional awards for her contributions to education and research. She has organized several national and regional educational meetings including the Ten Topics in Rheumatology – Asia (November 2009), first Asian Lupus Summit (November 2012), Asian Lupus Summit by Lupus Academy (March 2014), Lupus Academy (Philippine) Roadshow Meetings (May 2016, November 2017, May 2018), Musculoskeletal Imaging for Clinicians, Lupus for the Internist (May 2019) and Lupus webinar series (October-December 2020).



Mailing Address
Stichting Lupus Academy Foundation
Att. Secretariat
Maasdijk 409
4264 AS Veen
The Netherlands