The Steering Committee

Bevra H. Hahn

Professor Bevra H. Hahn, MD

University of California, Los Angeles
United States

Bevra Hahn is Distinguished Professor of Medicine (Emeritus, recalled for part time work) in the Division of Rheumatology at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). She received her medical degree and Rheumatology training at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland. She was Chief of Rheumatology at UCLA for 30 years.

Professor Hahn has published research in clinical investigations and basic studies of immune tolerance (including the invention of a tolerizing peptide) and T-cell biology as they apply to systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE). For these works she and her colleagues have received several awards, including the Carol-Nachman International Award for Rheumatology Research, awards from the British Society for Rheumatology and the Dutch Society for Rheumatology, the James Klinenberg Medal of the US Arthritis Foundation, an award from the Canadian Rheumatism Society, and the Gold Medal of the American College of Rheumatology (ACR). Professor Hahn was President of the ACR (1999–2000). She is co Editor, with Daniel Wallace, of the ‘Dubois’ Lupus Erythematosus textbook and is first author of the ACR guidelines for the management of lupus nephritis. She continues to work in clinical research devoted to the study of SLE.



Mailing Address
Stichting Lupus Academy Foundation
Att. Secretariat
Maasdijk 409
4264 AS Veen
The Netherlands